totalbike.gif Bicycle Productsfrontclass.gifStolen BikesBicyce RepairBicycle GallerySearch BicycleAbout Total Bike
Road Racing News for 7/12/01 [infociclismo]
Racing News for 7/12/01+ TOUR DE FRANCE

STAGE 5: What a day! It would be an understatement to call it an interesting day. One one hand, some of the teams that were expected to perform well did just that. One the other hand, some were not up to the task. Overall leader, Australian Stuart O'Grady had played down the chances for his team, Credit Agricole to take the stage, but looking at the composition of the team, anybody could see that they had what it takes to get a top 3 finish. ONCE-Eroski was no surprise, since director Manolo Saiz is a fanatic of the team time trial and had drilled his talented young team. Festina finished with the third best time thanks to the abilities of Moreau and Brard, they definitely rode a very good time trial, beyond expectations.

Credit Agricole won today with a time of 1 hour 21 minutes and 32 seconds, marking the best course times from the first time check and keeping the Yellow Jersey safe in their fold for one more day. US Postal lost more time than expected (1:26) and Telekom even more (1:50), although the performances were not disastrous, they were definitely disappointing. Their biggest concern in the mountains should be ONCE’s Igor Gonzalez de Galdeano and Joseba Beloki, along with Bobby Julich (Credit Agricole) if he has his climbing legs this year.

The rain and wind played havoc in the pace line. Telekom lost American Kevin Livingston (would not finish with the team) in the process and Erik Zabel suffered a flat. The US Postal was not exempt from problems and had a fall caused when Vandevelde slipped on a white line, bringing Heras down with him. Even with Armstrong’s long and strong pulls, the stage wasn’t meant to be his. Credit Agricole also had problems, with Julich getting aflat, which obviously didn’t affect them at all. Another unexpected surprise came from Kelme, ateam made up of mostly climbers, which took fifth place at 1:38.

Tomorrow’s sixth stage will traverse 211.5 km from Commercy to Strasbourg. The riders will face two category 4 climbs (km. 9.5 & 135.5) and one category 2 (Col de Donon/ km 153).

STAGE 5, Verdun to Bar de Luc, 67 km:
2. ONCE-EROSKI (ESP) at 31
3. FESTINA Watches (FRA) at 54
4. US POSTAL (USA) at 1:26
6. RABOBANK (NED) at 1:47
7. TELEKOM (GER) at 1:50
8. COFIDIS (FRA) at 2:55
9. BIG MAT (FRA) at 2:56
10. MAPEI (ITA) at 2:58
11. CSC-TISCALI (DEN) at 3:01
12. BONJOUR (FRA) at 3:09
13. IBANESTO.COM (ESP) at 3:45
14. DOMO (BEL) at 3:48
15. FASSA BORTOLO (ITA) at 4:01
16. JEAN DELATOUR (FRA) at 4:22
18. AG2R PREVOYANCE (FRA) at 4:52
20. LOTTO-ADECCO (BEL) at 5:14
21. LAMPRE (ITA) at 5:58

1. O'GRADY, Stuart (AUS/C.A) 20h 54:21
2. VOIGT, Jens (GER/C.A) at 26
3. JULICH, Bobby (USA/C.A) at 27
5. BELOKI, Joseba (ESP/ONC) at 1:07
6. SASTRE, Carlos (ESP/ONC) at 1:08
7. JAKSCHE, Jorg (GER/ONC) at 1:12
8. MOREAU, Christophe (FRA/FES) at 1:17
9. GUTIERREZ, Ivan (ESP/ONC) at 1:20
10. SERRANO, Marcos (ESP/ONC) at 1:23
11. BRARD, Florent (FRA/FES) at 1:24
12. CASERO, Angel (ESP/FES) at 1:33
13. PRADERA, Mikel (ESP/ONC) at 1:42
14. PEREZ, Luis (ESP/FES) at 1:50
15. ARMSTRONG, Lance (USA/USP) at 1:53
16. PENA, Victor Hugo (COL/USP) at 2:10
17. BOTERO, Santiago (COL/KEL) at 2:11
18. GUTIERREZ, José Enrique (ESP/KEL) at 2:17
19. ULLRICH, Jan (GER/TEL) at 2:20
20. KLODEN, Andréas (GER/TEL) at 2:32


PROLOGUE, Dunkirk, 8.2 km: Moreau/Moreau
STAGE 1, Saint Omer - Boulogne sur Mer, 194.5 km: Zabel/Moreau
STAGE 2, Calais – Antwerp (Belgium), 220 km: Wauters/Wauters
STAGE 3, Antwerp - Seraing, 198 km: Zabel/O’Grady
STAGE 4, Huy – Verdun, 215 km: L. Jalabert/O’Grady
STAGE 5, TTT, Verdun - Bar de Luc, 67 km: Credit Agricole/O’Grady


Stuart O’Grady (Credit Agricole) about the win: "Bobby Julich and Jens Voigt have been impressive, but I need to mention the work of the whole team, because they all performed at a high level. It was a very tough stage and the last kilometers were very complicated because of the numerous curves and wet floor. Our director, Roger Legeay, asked us to concentrate and we tried to remain concentrated. That was one of the keys to our victory”.


02.07.2001 15.07.2001 Giro d'Italia Femminile ITA 2.9.1 WEL

STAGE 10, Trento-Belluno Loc. Nevegal, 131 km: 1. Nicole Brandli (Sui,G.S. Edilsavino) 3h52'41"; 2. Rosalisa La Lapomarda (Ita, Rosa dei Venti) s.t.; 3. Zinaida Stahurskaia (Blr,Gas Soprt Team) s.t.; 4.Diana Ziliute (Ltu, Acca Due O - H.P.Lorena) a 1'12"; 5. Fabiana Luperini (Ita, Edilsavino Anusca) a 1'15"; 6 . Mirjam Melchers (Ned, Acca Due O -
H.P.Lorena) a 1'18"; 7. Alessandra Cappellotto (Ita, Gas Sport Team) a 1'37"; 8.Olga Zabeliskaja (Rus, Carpe Diem Itera) a 1'51"; 9. Susanne Ljungskog (Swe,Vlaanderen T. Interim) a 2'04"; 10. Edita Pucinskaite (Ltu, Alfa Lum Aurora) s.t.

G.C.: 1. Zinaida Stahurskaia (Blr, Gas Sport Team) che copre i 1207.5 km in 33h06'31" alla media di 36.542 km/h; 2. Nicole Brandli (Sui, Edilsavino Anusca) a 20"; 3. Rosalisa La Pomarda (Ita, Rosa dei Venti) a 58" 4. Alessandra Cappellotto (Ita, Gas Sport Team) a 3'04"; 5. Edita Pucinskaite (Ltu, Alfa Lum Aurora) a 4'30"; 6. Fabiana Luperini (Ita, Edilsavino Anusca) a 4'32"; 7. Diana Ziliute (Ltu, Accadueo Lorena) a 5'05";; 8. Joane Somarriba (Esp, Alfa Lum Aurora) a 6'54"; 9. Cindy Pieters (Bel, Vlaanderen T.Interim) a 9'00"; 10. Simona Parente (Ita, Edilsavino Anusca) a 10'30"

11.07.2001 15.07.2001 Troféu Joaquim Agostinho POR 2.4 MEL

STAGE 2, Lourinha to Azambuja, 232 km:
1. Thorsten Wilhelms (GER-Nurnberger) 5:27.36
2. Alberto Benito ( m.t
3. Nuno Marta (PORT- Porta da Ravessa) m.t
4. Paulo Martins (PORT-Gresco Tavira) m.t
5. Olaf Pollack (GER-Gerolsteiner) m.t
6. Miguel Soro (ESP- Jodofer) m.t

1. Casned Tupak (ITAL-La Pecol) 9:16.19
2. Steffen Weigold (ALEM-Gerolsteiner) a 09
3. Antonio Encinar (ESP-Barbot Torrie) m.t
4. Adrian Palomares (ESP-Boavista) a 12
5. Francisco Pérez (ESP-Gresco Tavira) a 18


FESTINA TO END SPONSORSHIP? : Festina Watches may stop their sponsorship of the cycling team at the end of this season after 12 years of sponsorship.



Cascade Cycling Classic
Bend, OR - July 11-15, 2001

Mercury's Chris Wherry took the first stage of the Cascade Cycling Classic. Teammate Mike Sayers was 2nd as the Mercury team continued in their winning ways. Wherry's win marks the teams 55th win of the year. The stage was marked by extreme weather with snow falling on the top of the circuits main climb, which was covered twice. The race came down to a group of 40 riders with the Green Wave leading the way.

Stage 1 - Results
1. Chris Wherry Mercury-Viatel 4:07:55
2. Mike Sayers Mercury-Viatel s.t.
13. Chris Horner Mercury-Viatel
18. Scott Moninger Mercury-Viatel
87. John Peters Mercury-Viatel

Main Menu
cycle resources
menu Home
menu Products
menu Classifieds
menu News Archive
menu Articles
menu Stories
menu Reviews
menu Blog
menu Stolen Bikes
menu Interbike
menu Repair/Tech
menu Bicycle Recalls
menu Kids Corner
menu Other

Privacy | Submit News | Corrections | Contact Total Bike

Copyright 1998-2019 All Rights Reserved