totalbike.gif Bicycle Productsfrontclass.gifStolen BikesBicyce RepairBicycle GallerySearch BicycleAbout Total Bike
Armstrong Wins Velonews Cyclist of the Year 2001
For the second year in a row the three-time Tour de France winner, Lance Armstring won the Internation Cyclist of the year. This was Lance's second consecutive title, making lance the second athlete to win the award twice.

Roland Green and Lyne Bessette won the North American Cyclist of the Year honors. Green, a Canadian rider was the first non-American and mountain biker that has ever the won the award. Bessette, also from Canada, followed fellow Canadian Linda Jackson, who won it twice (1997, '98)

International Cyclists of the Year Finalists:
Roland Green
Erik Zabel

Previous Winners
Lance Armstrong (2000)
Anne-Caroline Chausson (1999)
Marco Pantani (1998)
Paolo Pezzo (1997)
Alison Sydor (1996)
Laurent Jalabert (1995)
Miguel Induráin (1994 and 1992)
Juli Furtado (1993)
Gianni Bugno (1991)
Ned Overend (1990)
Greg LeMond (1989)
Steve Bauer (1988)

North American Male Cyclist of the Year finalists
George Hincapie, Trent Klasna, Levi Leipheimer

North American Female Cyclist of the Year finalists
Kim Bruckner, Alison Dunlap, Genevičve Jeanson, Missy Giove

Main Menu
cycle resources
menu Home
menu Products
menu Classifieds
menu News Archive
menu Articles
menu Stories
menu Reviews
menu Blog
menu Stolen Bikes
menu Interbike
menu Repair/Tech
menu Bicycle Recalls
menu Kids Corner
menu Other

Privacy | Submit News | Corrections | Contact Total Bike

Copyright 1998-2019 All Rights Reserved