totalbike.gif Bicycle Productsfrontclass.gifStolen BikesBicyce RepairBicycle GallerySearch BicycleAbout Total Bike
USA Cycling Announces 2001 NCCA All-Americans
Fifty-six cyclists earned spots on the 2001 National Collegiate Cycling Association (NCCA) All-American squads, USA Cycling announced Thursday.

Four athletes were named in two categories, after demonstrating high levels of skill in the different disciplines. Jed Schneider picked up honors in the mountain bike and cyclo-cross categories, after taking the championship title at cyclo-cross nationals, as well as third and fourth place finishes at mountain bike nationals. Kate Maher, Alice Pennington and Mary Rudy were all named to the road and mountain bike squads.

Nine athletes were named to the All-American team for the second consecutive year. Abigail Brearton, Ian Dille, Lara Kroepsch, Bobby Lea, Jessica Piel, Mary Rudy, Zach Shriver and Janine Verstraeten took the honors again in 2001. Schneider was awarded for the third year in a row.

The top five men and women overall from the disciplines of mountain bike, road and track championships are named to the squads. Overall, the NCCA is comprised of 174 member institutions and more than 2,400 riders. The NCCA All-American teams are chosen annually at the conclusion of the national collegiate championships. USAFA led all schools with six occupied spots on the various All-American squads.

2001 NCCA All-American Team

Menís Division I Omnium
Peter Knudsen - UC-San Diego
Jeff Angermann - UC Davis
Ian Dille - Univ. of Texas
Mark Ernsting - Midwestern State
Jeff Johnston - Texas A&M

Menís Division II Omnium
Sam Troge - USAFA
Robert Gannini - Emory University
Aric Hareland - North Dakota State
Bradley Ames - USAFA
Robert King - Colorado College

Womenís Division I Omnium
Carolyn Donnelly - Univ. of New Mexico
Lara Kroepsch - University of Colorado
Karen Bockel - Colorado State Univ.
Alice Pennington - Oregon State Univ.
Kate Maher - UC-Berkeley

Womenís Division II Omnium
Sarah Konrad - Univ of Wyoming
Kate Sherwin - Dartmouth College
Alison McNulty - Univ. of Washington
Mary Rudy - USAFA
Bridget Sullivan-Stevens - Colorado College

Menís Omnium
Bobby Lea - Penn State University
Todd Yzefski - Dartmouth College
Mike Freidman - Penn State University
David Wenger - Miami University (OH)
Eric DeGolier - Univ. of Wisconsin

Womenís Omnium
Jenn Wangerin - Indiana University
Karen Wooten - San Diego State Univ.
Rebecca Hart - Marion College
Janine Verstraeten - Marion College
Abigail Brearton - Marion College

Menís Division I Omnium
Adam Craig - University of Maine
Thomas Danielson - Fort Lewis College
Jed Schneider - University of Kansas
Zachary Shriver - Fort Lewis College
Nate Dills - University of Colorado

Menís Division II Omnium
Ben Vickers - USAFA
Ben Phillips - Union College
Jeff Dickey - Washington & Lee
Tyler Wren - Princeton University
Brian Kenney - University of Akron

Womenís Division I Omnium
Katherine Maher - UC-Berkeley
Nichole Marcillac - Cal Poly
Tarrah MacBeth - Lindsey Wilson College
Alice Pennington - Oregon State University
Leah Trapp - Colorado State University

Womenís Division II Omnium
Katelyn Wells - Western Kentucky University
Mary Rudy - USAFA
Olga Milenkaya - Warren Wilson
Samantha Jennings - Warren Wilson
Melanie Barnes - USAFA

Jed Schneider - Univ. of Kansas
Andy Jacques-Maynes - UC-Berkeley
Kirt Fitzpatrick - Univ. of New Hampshire
Toby Swanson - Lindsey Wilson College
Barry Wicks - Oregon State University

Alicia Genest - Boston University
Sarah Uhl - Univ. of Vermont
Courtney Bollman - Miami University (OH)
Megan Elliott - University of Iowa
Jessica Piel - William & Mary

Main Menu
cycle resources
menu Home
menu Products
menu Classifieds
menu News Archive
menu Articles
menu Stories
menu Reviews
menu Blog
menu Stolen Bikes
menu Interbike
menu Repair/Tech
menu Bicycle Recalls
menu Kids Corner
menu Other

Privacy | Submit News | Corrections | Contact Total Bike

Copyright 1998-2019 All Rights Reserved